10 Comments
Dec 7, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I’m also a Rotarian and do my charitable volunteer work mostly through that organization.

Expand full comment

I started riding motorcycles about seven years ago (mid life crisis) and wanting to join a group of likewise scooter enthusiasts that didn't have 1% patches on their vests, I found ABATE. ABATE is a 501c10 motorcycle rights group, that fights for legislation at the state level that provides better laws concerning our right to ride safely. Because it's a non-profit statewide group they have to do at least some charitable work. ABATE is broken up into chapters, and my chapter, Key Peninsula does social events, group rides, and other things motorcycle related.

Our chapter only has 35 or so members, but we do more socializing and charity work than most lodges. We are also more visible in the community, especially amongst other bikers. We also work with legislators to draft bills to hopefully pass into law.

Maybe that's why I am more focused on trying to get more masonic education in the lodge, outside of lodge my social and charitable work is more than satisfied. If my lodge was even half as involved within the community it would stand out within the fraternity. Unfortunately out of the 60+ members, 10% of the lodge does 100% of the work, and I'd guess those that do all that work aren't too eager to pile on more.

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I belong to the Elks for the social aspect. I do my charitable work primarily through my own efforts instead of as a group.

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

As a veteran of both the Air Force and Army, I joined the American Legion in 1976, two years after being raised, in order to help fellow veterans dealing with PTSD. Having relocated several times during my career, Freemasonry and the Legion served as a home away from home, my adopted family if you will. In my travels I was never really alone as I knew that a Masonic lodge, or American Legion post would welcome me. The Masonic values of Integrity, Friendship, Respect, and Service have been a boundless source of inspiration over my fifty years as a Freemason. So mote it be.

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think Lodge should be a place where we can bring all these things together. And by things, I mean people who have diverse interests in these various things. Crossover, indeed.

Expand full comment

Reflecting back on one’s life and trying to figure out what makes us tick can be a daunting task. This question had me thinking why I have made some of the choices I’ve made in my life.

I never really thought about why I have made the choices I’ve made. After leaving the Navy in 61 my father in law told me I should think about becoming a Mason and I did but was told I had to be asked. In the years that followed I became involved with a local civic group that gave back to the community, became a firefighter, a Little League coach, played on a baseball team and raised a family. The only thing in common was teamwork and community service.

Fast forward after retirement I joined the American Legion meet a friend who became my Brother and became an active member in Masonry. The only thing that motivated me throughout my life has been teamwork and giving back to the community. I don’t need to go any deeper than that.

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I'm a member of the elks, moose, legion. Vfw. And grange for national fraternal organizations. I'm also a Lion for charity. And a member of multiple chamber of commerces. But none have really provided me with the fellowship/socialization I was hoping for. I recently joined the University club in Portland. We'll see how it goes.

Esoterics is something I can study effectively on my own. Though it would be nice to have fellowship social discussions about it.

Truth is, I struggle to find friends no matter where I go. It would be nice to have a mentor on that.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

The only other order I have been a member of is the AMORC, but after completing the degrees I have become inactive. I have had lots of esoteric relationships and have worked with other esotericists, but have avoided additional memberships.

Expand full comment
author

As for me, I've stuck with Masonry only through most of my adult life.

But, as a kid and a young adult, I was super involved with Scouting and moved straight from the youth program into the adult program. But eventually moved away from that involvement. I was also, in school, extremely involved with the FFA. Both of these youth organizations were very helpful to me, and a tremendous amount of fun.

As GM, some friends and Brothers did the paperwork necessary to get me declared a Kentucky Colonel. That led me to the Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels group, and since then that has become my charitable organization of choice. I find it to be completely transparent in its endeavors and it supports a wide variety of efforts that I can get behind. It seems to me that I can see where every dollar I donate there ends up, and that is how charity should be. So for the reason of that transparency, I've moved a lot of my charitable giving there, beyond the causes supported by my Lodges that I continue to proudly support.

Expand full comment
Dec 9, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I am a disabled veteran that spent a better part of a decade researching and considering my choice to petition.

While I was inspired and informed by the years of esoteric research, my ultimate decision came from

making a choice to go and offer myself to the group. For I see holes that need to be filled and that has exponentially more gravity on me than any pretensions of esoterica. I want to help preserve what is there, and keep the perpetual flame alit.

Selfless service is all I know. Platonic love is something ingrained in me from my baptist upbringing and annealed through years of military service. Strong enough to overcome any anxieties I have about myself due to my health and has already made huge changes in my life just by wanting to be there.

I make a point not to hold any preemptions towards my Masonic journey. The world is full of those lately. Further supported by the advice from a local Master “that it’s better not to spoil it”.

I strive against the retrograde amnesia from epilepsy to remember every line. If there is any true subjective joy here, it is from that challenge alone.

I test for proficiency tomorrow. If I pass I will finally be one my way to do more in masonry.

May He be under and over you all.

Expand full comment