24 Comments
Apr 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Despite my lodge being boring and destitute, this is one area that wasn't a problem. In our brief and plain meals, I could sit with any brother and be included in the conversation. Once in a while the topics even touched on interesting topics. If anything, my lodge needed to make the meal a bigger part of the experience.

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

It should be every brothers’ responsibility to welcome and engage anyone that walks into the building, but in the end it’s the Master’s responsibility to ensure everyone that comes in is welcomed and put at ease. To answer any questions the visitor might have. Cliques are nothing new, regardless where your at. They are more of a problem when they exclude brothers that are members. There’s no quicker way to “kill” a lodge than to have its members feel unwelcome or not apart of the fraternity. Certainly, there are brothers whose company I enjoy but I have learned and laughed with all the brothers of my lodge.

Expand full comment

Two way street. Not only should we be welcoming and conversational with a first time visitor (I assume, a brother here), but that visitor should also make it a point to go around and introduce himself, and sit at a table with other brothers. In the lodge room, they can sit anywhere they want, we present them at the altar, and thank them for attending our meeting.

It's a bit easier to welcome someone that is inquiring about masonry, as that opens a ton of conversation pieces. We have weekly practice and mentoring night, which is about 50% sitting around socializing, and if they show up then, we just continue to socialize with our new potential candidate.

If they show up on a meeting night, someone will take them around and introduce him to the other brothers, buy them dinner, and get to know them more.

Expand full comment
Apr 13, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I think that step four -The social meeting of the Six steps before becoming a Freemason really answers the question. And yes the Master has the responsibility to see the candidate is introduced to all members present and have them actively spend time with the candidate.

Expand full comment
Apr 13, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My wife and I teach martial arts. One rule we adopted from our sensei is simple: the most important person in every class is the newest student.

Expand full comment
Apr 13, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

One of the saddest things I witnessed in a Lodge was after a candidate had been Initiated into the First Degree, he was ignored at the after-meeting dinner. He came downstairs, and just stood there, unsure of what to do. No one, not one Brother, made an overture to invite him to the festive board, yet HE was the reason we were all there!

(By the way, that Lodge is now closed.)

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

This is one thing that prompted me to join Tenino Lodge in 1996.

I had known many of the members of that Lodge since I was around 10 or so. Every time I visited Tenino Lodge as a teenager, I always felt welcome. I had gotten to know many of the main active members of the Lodge throughout that period of time, so when I petitioned, it was a no-brainer. There wasn't any cliques in Tenino Lodge, and still aren't.

That being said, I also remember attending a Past Master's association meeting in another region of this state (which will remain unnamed.) The first time I attended, I was totally shrugged off by almost all in attendance. One Brother badgered me about paying for a meal that I didn't even RSVP for, and I also remember one Brother slamming into me walking by, and didn't even blink an eye. Only one member said hi. I told the Brother who brought me to the meeting about what happened, and I thanked him for bringing me, but cordially told him I didn't wish to return. The next year, he said let's try it again. I took the Brother's word for it, and I attended a second time. This time, it went considerably better. Not sure what happened, but at least it had a happy ending.

But scenarios like this can happen in Lodge, and the members might not even realize it! Also, not all Lodge members are social butterflies. Many are introverted, and may not be comfortable jumping up and striking a conversation with a stranger, even if they're a new member of their Lodge. But to be fair, almost every Lodge has at least a couple of extroverted active members, and the Worshipful Master would be wise to appoint those Brothers to be the greeters for visitors, sojourners and new Brothers.

Also mentioned earlier in this thread is bringing up this subject at a Stated Communication -- make it a key topic for ALL to discuss. It'd bring the subject to the forefront, and even if your lodge doesn't seem to have this problem, it could show any hidden problems, or improve things that are already doing well.

Expand full comment
Apr 14, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I had a Facebook post recently which addressed this subject quite well. I think it has a Masonic application.

"Walking thru my son's school yard.... I noticed a bench on the pavement with bright paint around it.

I asked my son, " Is that the only place to sit around here?"

He said, "No, that's the buddy bench! When someone feels lonely or they have nobody to play with, they sit there and people ask them to play"

Wow. Amazing

I then told him how awesome that was and asked if he has ever used it.

He said, " Yeah, when I was new I sat there and someone came to me and asked me to play. I felt happy. And now when I see kids on it, I ask them to play with me....we all do.

What a fabulous idea for a school yard."

I think this concept could be easily adopted in a Masonic Lodge or meal. I have one Brother who has a gift of starting conversations. He starts with a great question, "What keeps you busy these days? He learns where he works, where he's from, how many are in his family what they do and so much more from this one question.

Expand full comment

At my two Lodges it seems that we are in such a scramble to fill the chairs at each meeting and having inconsistency at the Senior Deacon position we often let visitors go ungreeted. Being a newer member in my Redmond, OR Lodge, I was greeted well, examined at length at first and within 2 years I find myself headed to the East next year already in this new (to me) Lodge.

I have been able to assist in a turnaround process on our building, helped do some renovations, project manage other work and get a renter in for our kitchen and dining room in the form of a day care operation that gives us $ 1,300 a month in much needed income. I have not met some of the Brothers, so when they show up, I seek them out to introduce myself and then follow up with a phone call the next day or so.

I have met some very nice Brothers this way and we have been able to get some to return to regular attendance at Lodge. With the inconsistency at the Senior Deacon level, I have been mentoring the current Senior Deacon to get him to take on this role a bit more seriously and he is making good progress. We still have a long way to go however in making sure visitors and to that extent members are properly greeted and introduced.

Expand full comment