12 Comments
Nov 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

It was one of the first books I purchased after being raised. I loved it. I appreciated that it was presented with Histrolical facts, and never seemed to stretch the truth. He merely stated his theory and provided facts to support it, but ultimately let you, the reader, come to your own conclusions.

The writing was detailed and could transport you back in time, but maintained a scholarly feel. I would highly recommend this book to both prospective candidates and brothers alike.

Expand full comment
Nov 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Robinson believes that the Templars who survived the 1307 purge in France, found their way to England and hid themselves in a secret society, which became what we know as Freemasonry.

I just finished the book. I’m going to take another run through it and make a book report for Lodge (thank you for the loan, brother Micheal!).

It’s an outstanding history. As Robinson described the Peasant’ Rebellion of 1381, I saw the movie playing out.

Vivid writing, excellent historical context.

Robinson is clear on what is supported by history and what is supported by either logic or circumstantial evidence.

Highly recommended.

Expand full comment
Nov 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I read it about 10 years ago. Since that time I've re read it twice more. The more I look at it, the more I check, cross check both within the book and with other sources, the more Robinson's work stands out as the best understanding of the time and events we so far have to work with.

Robbinson, who was an historian and was not a Mason when he wrote this. His book wasn't a literary effort to prove anything related to Masonry. He was curious about an event in history whose accepted explination made less and less sense as he worked through research of the time, and place. The evidence that he gathered pointed him into an unexpected direction, and one that I think all Masons should consider; perhaps we are more then we think we are.

History, and historical research isn't a tidy business. "B" rarely directly follows "A". It is only from a view from 30,000 feet, or from the vantage of many decades do we get a real sense of how history links it self together to form the human story.

From Robbinson's writting know at least the following things; We know that Knights Templar existed and became an extraordinarily influential organization of it's time. We know the Templars grew from a military order into an empire that created the first banking system. And we know that Phillip of France was addicted to other people's money and that he didn't like paying his debts. We know there were two Popes at that time and one of them was Phillips cousin, Clement - I can't remember if Clement was IV or V.

The Knights Templar had their own business and military executives, their own trades people, and both land and sea forces. They had a navy! Robbinson reports that owning their own navy became critical during the events of 1307.

Today we tease, and laugh about how Friday the 13th is bad luck. That "superstition" is more of an historical memory. I have a strong suspecion that there is a great deal in our craft that is not meerly ritual, but an historical memory.

Looking at our rituals, and our culture, as seen from an historical point of view of an organization on the run from Phillip, who ordered the death of the Knights, makes a great deal more sense to me then the origin story we tell ourselves. And it may well be that this was not an accident.

Expand full comment

Read it first in 1999 then again earlier this year. I think he presents what he discovered and what he speculates well. He allows the reader to form his own conclusions.

The organization during the peasants revolt does make a stronge case that a there had been an underground network in place years prior.

His next book on the Crusades and Templars is also good and on my re-read list. Dungeon, Fire, and Sword: The Knights Templar in the Crusades

Expand full comment
Nov 3, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

My Brethren have made the same statements and arguments that I would make in my recommendation for John Robinson's "Born in Blood." When I first took on the delightful responsibility of mentoring a young EA, the first book I lent him was "Born in Blood." To that date, he had never picked up a book (other than a text book) for casual reading. He devoured Born in Blood, and asked me for *more*! Another series of historical fiction I can recommend is "Knights of the Black and White," by Jack Whyte. The three-book series traces the Knights Templar from their founding to their dissolution and banishment. Fascinating reading, but remember that it is *fiction* based on history.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you everyone for sharing your thoughts about this book. My own thoughts about it mirror what everyone else has written. I greatly enjoyed it, and I have loaned it out a number of times (which has required additional purchases, as book lending rarely seems to work out well for me!)

Expand full comment
Nov 7, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Christopher Hodapp, in “Freemasons for Dummies,” describes Robinson’s theories but says, “Most historians, Masonic and otherwise, discount Robinson’s theory… Nevertheless, Robinson brought up some interesting possibilities and more than a few unanswered coincidences.”

Hodapp seems rather dismissive, without engaging with Robinson’s arguments.

Does anyone know why?

Expand full comment