6 Comments
Aug 1, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

In my case anyone I know are already Masons and we all know why we prefer friends and Brothers this way.

Even some that live back east or even in Europe that I work with that we mainly talk via the internet.

Seems it would be our younger Brothers that would know people that may be interested or ask questions about why and what we do and if they would want to be.

People they grew up with or work with may wonder or ask about it.

3:30am goodnight Brother

Expand full comment

I would simply ask him what he is looking for? Fellowship? Community involvement? Learning how to be a better person? Combination of things? Chances are, they have already done a little research and web surfing, and should already have at least some idea what we're about. If not, I'd explain what freemasonry is about, or supposed to be. I'd also be honest with them and explain what lodge they should join, depending on their answers. I would much rather see a man grow and thrive in another lodge than eventually become disillusioned and quit joining mine, if I don't think he would be a good fit.

Expand full comment

I do not think there is an "elevator speech" type of response. My first step is to invite them to meet other Masons. We have a good method to get to know these guys and for them to get to know us. It is only through multiple encounters and the right questions would I be able to answer the original question?

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would ask my brothers of to have a pre planned response a.k.a elevator speech. It doesn’t have to describe the entire of masonry; but something that would catch a man’s attention to want to ask more questions. We had an education on sharing ours, that way we can polish them up. It needs to come from your heart instead of being scripted. Our lodge also has business cards produced with a blank side. I asked brothers to carry 2 with them with their contact info. Just need to start the conversation .

Expand full comment