5 Comments

Well, there's the Hiram Award, which is very popular and there's the anniversary awards, but I am not aware of others in this jurisdiction. I know a Master can make a deserving brother a honary WB. I'm curious what's in the peruvial closet we have? I survived the pandemic and all I got was this t-shirt? There are so many brothers that helped us get by in the last two years. Is there something for them. Unity award? Coach of the year award?

Expand full comment

I think a lot of confusion (at least for me) is that lodges may not know how or who awards these things, outside of perhaps the Hiram Award. Any awards given by the GL, who nominates a brother for it? I do recall the GL giving out awards to lodges (not brothers) but apparently that stopped a few years ago for reasons unknown. There is the GM Achievement Award, which has turned into a longevity award (again, at least to me).

When I got my Hiram Award, it was completely unexpected, and as I said at the time, I did the things I did because it needed to be done, not for any awards or recognition.

But the problem with awards is that there are brothers that have made great contributions to the craft and never gotten any awards of any kind, while possibly much less deserving brothers do.

But brothers shouldn't be concerned with those things. We're not supposed to be laboring for the spotlight, we're supposed to be doing what we do to better ourselves and those around you. A lapel pin or certificate is nice, but really shouldn't be something to seek.

Year after year we get brothers throwing their hat into the ring to become Junior Grand Warden, and they list all of the committees and positions they've held. None of that matters to me. I want to know what they value as a mason, and what they think is most important as the Grand Master of the jurisdiction.

Expand full comment
Mar 31, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I don't do Freemasonry for the awards. I do Freemasonry for the rewards--the personal rewards I feel when I do something good, anonymously for someone.

Expand full comment

I believe that most Masons didn't join to be singled out but to be part of something bigger than themselves . That being said, we all know of worthy Brothers that stand out as going above and beyond in their dedication to the Craft. Do they deserve an award ? Maybe district wise as an example for others to strive to emulate might serve even more important for the Brother and the Craft.

Expand full comment
Apr 1, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Recognition is fundamental. Modesty is a beautiful character trait, and perhaps introductions during meetings may be overdone a bit but recognizing Brothers for their valuable and important work is beneficial as it's an official 'thank you' and publicizes their involvement in the fraternity which might inspire others with ideas on how they can contribute. Think less 'award' and more 'letter of appreciation'. I framed my PLIM certificate and put it in the office to remind me of the time I put into the fraternity, and to be a gentle reminder that I can do more. In my humble opinion, the anniversary pins are of greatest importance. As a 'newer' Mason, it is inspiring to see men with 20, 30, 40 years in the craft. It's a reminder that we may have challenges now, but those will be overcome and what will remain is our fellowship in this beautiful fraternity.

Expand full comment