9 Comments
Oct 29, 2021Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Then what would you call a GrandMaster?

Every lodge has a patriarch.

Perhaps we don't notice it, because we each have our own sphere within our home lodge.

Expand full comment

Strength. If one Brother is deemed to be the know-all-see-all then the rest of us have no reason to pursue our search for our individual perfect ashlar.

Expand full comment

The history channel seems to think a hand full of people can speak for all of masonry.

Expand full comment

We do not conform ourselves to the vision of Masonry laid out by any authority. Rather, Masonry is revealed differently through each of us.

Expand full comment

When I explain Masonry to "seekers" (men who are interested in becoming a part of our Fraternity), I explain the we are a Brotherhood of like-minded men, seeking to improve our communities through self-improvement. No single one of us can--nor should speak for *all* of Freemasonry. I speak only for my Lodge and myself. The "secret" of Freemasonry is what happens in *your* heart, your soul, and how you react to that feeling. Yes, the Grand Master is a powerful central figure, but even he cannot speak for all of Freemasonry. He provides guidance and an example for the rest of us to emulate. There is no Supreme Grand Master--ruler of all Masons, wheresoever dispersed. ALL of us should try to be examples of what Freemasonry is, diligent, prudent, temperate, discreet. When I "wear the brand," I want the public to see a man who is worthy of respect and emulation. I try my best to make my small part of the world just a little better, every day. Just my thoughts...

Expand full comment

If our Craft is working in the heart of a Brother, then he will do his best, in humility, to represent our Craft, and the Light will find its way into his words. If a Brother seeks titles and to be seen as an expert on the Craft, he will well represent his own ambitions and darkest demons. Most of the worst conspiracy theories that haunt us are propigated by our own brothers.

Expand full comment