17 Comments

My chances of masonic travel outside of our jurisdiction are pretty slim for the foreseeable future, I might download it (Amity) if I am planning a masonic trip out of state. It is cool, however, that a company is stepping up to provide modern technology accessible products for masons that appear to be pretty affordable.

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I was completely unaware of this app and upon learning about it i have signed up for it.

This is the kind of development i have been hoping to see within masonry to assist us in our travels. Additionally this is a good tool in general to connect with other masons around the world.

Once my verification is complete I intend to try this out and spread it among the brothers in my area to test it out.

I hope it works as well as it appears to.

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I’m aware of it, I was a very early adopter back in beta! I have found it to be highly useful everywhere I’ve traveled for checking out what’s around.

It has the same problem as the old book though, they rely on data from Grand Lodges and when GLs don’t report that a lodge closed three years ago the book and the app are both wrong and you show up at an empty building :-)

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

What is this thing you call a "cell phone" MW??

I do have 10 computers running 24/7 here at home but my phone doesn't have a wire that can make it from Port Ludlow to Wenatchee >;-]

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Thanks for bringing this up, Cameron. While I had the app downloaded, I had never set it up. After perusing their website, I saw that they are going to distribute the Short-Talk Bulletin in the app now. That is huge, as that is going out of print, so I have set it up now and am waiting for verification! The ring looks pretty slick. A bit of James Bond there, I would say. All in all, seems like a valuable service for the Fraternity as a whole.

Expand full comment

It is a really neat addition for the traveling man. I’ve used it in my travels to Kansas and will use it on my future trips to Tennessee and North Carolina. It provides GPS support and if lodges have uploaded info correctly, you’ll see dates and times of meeting s without having to scour the internet. As for the ring, my cousin RW Mark has it and uses it as his daily wedding band. It’s pretty nifty on how you can hold it right next to a phone and have instant Masonic verification.

Expand full comment

Are you familiar with just how the verification process takes for this app? I signed up two days ago, and nothing. Is it reliant on our GL to verify by hand, so to speak?

Expand full comment
Apr 17, 2023Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

I would love it if my GL (and all GLs for that matter) would push Amity. I think it's a fantastic app and would love to be able to use it for verification during travel.

Expand full comment