13 Comments

In answer to the first question

Fredericksburg Masonic Lodge No. 4

As I was born on the same day as George Washington, I think that it would be great to visit in February and tell the story.

2nd question

We have a historical theme park in Victoria Australia Sovereign Hill, upstairs in the Charlie Napier Hotel is the smallest lodge room , probably only holds 20 attendees, and have dinner later in the hotel

Expand full comment

I’ve only visited a small number of lodges outside of my local area, and none really stand out to me. They are usually old and needing updating and/or repairs. There have been a few that had features I liked. Honolulu lodge had fiber optic lights embedded in the ceiling to mimic stars for example. I loved Horus Tyler lodge’s exposed wooden beams in the lodge room, was very nicely designed. Franklin lodge is very small and old, but the fact the officers dress up in revolutionary period clothes is a neat touch. My suggestion to them that if they can’t get the WMC changed to allow officers to wear more historically accurate aprons, that they ask the MWGM dispensation to allow it instead, at say, a special event once a year.

Expand full comment

I'd love to see kirkwall killwinning in Orkney scottland and see the kirkwall scroll.

The others id recomend to you traveling companions. The masonic marker at black camp gap. More specifically during the york rite summer assembly. A week long experience!

http://www.phoenixmasonry.org/masonicmuseum/Great_Smoky_Mountains_Masonic_Monument.htm

Expand full comment
Nov 14, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Killwinning for the obvious reason and then because my physics/computing partner who retired at CERN last year was born there 82 years ago and after he finished College in Scotland he moved to Geneva in 1967 to work at CERN and still lives there after retirement

The one here in our country would be the Grand Lodge of Free & Accepted Masons of Indiana

( I have a friend/Brother that lives in Indianapolis) .........do wish I could make that trip to ours in Washington D.C. to see this one https://i80.servimg.com/u/f80/19/36/49/57/screen17.jpg

Expand full comment