16 Comments

We had a lodge in my jurisdiction that stopped posting their events in the local news paper after a local preacher and his congregation started issuing death threats to the lodge members and their family. While I'm not hesitant to post and share about my activities, to my direct friends and family. To the general public, I don't advertise the Fraternity nor my membership. My social media accounts are limited, who can see what is restricted. I share my fraternity membership, No more than I expound on my personal life. It dangerous and frankly none of their buisness. Imho.

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Sharing your personal experiences with people in your sphere of influence can be a very powerful way to provide information about Masonry. The down side to a program like this is the differing answers to the questions that are asked, and it only takes one brother to set Masonry back. I like the way the GL of Washington shares Masonry. The videos have been very professional and provide great information. Both programs can be good for our gentle craft but we certainly need to be fully prepared to guard the west gate.

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Good concept overall. The big problem is that many brothers aren’t well versed in explaining Freemasonry. I’ve seen multiple reply’s from brothers that miss the mark. Marketing is very important as long as you put out the correct message. I would trust some brothers to handle inquiries, and many others, I would prefer they not give out incorrect information. And this is coming from a brother who has worked for years in Shriners International membership team, in Demolay and lodge. I’ve lost count Of how many petitions I’ve signed the last 40 years, but I’ve also helped restore dozens of brothers by showing interest when others didn’t. Every Mason owes his lodge the help it needs to grow. You can’t just pawn it off on other brothers because it isn’t your thing. When you join, you’re asked if you’re a seeker of knowledge. Well? Keep learning and growing and also help others learn and grow. Be a part of the solution to membership. Be aware of how you speak to others. Be humble, not arrogant. Be empathetic to others. It makes a difference. Listen to their inquiries and study your history and philosophy of masonry so that you can help

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2022Liked by Cameron M. Bailey

Social media is the future. In order to stay relevent, we must adapt. I barely see Facebook used. We arent using instagram, twitter, or the rest. Sooner then we would like, we will be having discussions of lodges held in the metaverse.

Grand lodges need to be forward thinking, while keeping our rich history, ritual and traditions safe.

Expand full comment

Thanks to the WWW we have easier ways to communicate and between brothers in privacy things can work BUT there are thousands of these examples that show how no matter how hard we try this is not going to stop.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JsrFQs2L-U8

And many, many more just on youtube.

Expand full comment

Yes I agree with you MW

Expand full comment